top of page

Art Therapy at home.




Everyone is throwing around the word “Therapy” it's basically the new “Mindfulness.” Every conversation someone is suggesting therapy. Don’t get me wrong, we all have issues and sometimes some of us need assistance to get to the root of the problem. But being honest therapy is not for everyone. It is not affordable for most people, in addition to it still having a taboo presence. Not everyone wants to share a traumatic life situation, and I passionately believe some shit you just take to the grave. That does not mean you can work on it while still keeping it for yourself. Life is about lessons, and some lessons are a solo mission. I have always been pretty private in how I deal with sticky situations. I just pull back, disappear, and go inwards to heal myself. Most people really do not want to hear you complain, or vent and even when you do find “your listener” not everything you are ready to share just yet.


It is a very strange time for us all, and we all have extra baggage to unpack. When I am unfolding all the madness in my baggage, I found it helpful to get creative. If you know me personally, I thought I was going to be a cartoonist for years. I loved drawing, and I was pretty fucking great at it too. I love anything creative really. I have been writing the same book for the last 15 years, I still write poetry daily, I draw birds and fairies all the time. I like scrapbooking in my journal and coloring with my daughter is always the perfect stress reliver. Art is therapy! The creative process helps you to visualize any idea or situation on a deeper level. When you creatively work you become closer to your soul’s path because you allow it to speak without limitation. Colors are attached to emotions, so sometimes you do not even realize what you are feeling until you see it right in front of you in all it is colorful glory. Creativity is your soul’s way of cleaning house, both metaphorically and literally. And I know what you are thinking, I am not creative. Yes, you are, you just need to allow yourself the freedom to find out what your inner artist loves.


Here are a few ideas of creative expressive art therapy you can do at home.


· Drawing – by simply drawing geometric shapes you can express problems and find where blockage is happening in your subconscious. (Try it! Just start drawing shapes and see how many are free flowing or locked in some maze or grid)



· Literature – Words are so amazingly powerful! Self-expression through words and rhymes are the ultimate outlet. An easy practice is to just write exactly how you are feeling at the moment in the best detail. A fantastic way to save yourself most times is when you are upset, write what you would say (pretty or not) first. You will realize you do not even need to waste your breath.

· Movement – movement has always been the most natural form of self-expression. Go ahead put on your favorite tunes and dance until your soul is laughing. Dance allows us to be ourselves and that is where beauty lies.



· Photography – Therapeutic photography involves taking, analyzing, and using photos for the purpose of personal healing, growth, or understanding, whether done consciously or unconsciously. ... so go out and just take photos of everything that you are feeling. See what story your soul told you.

· Clay/Pottery – a form of therapy in which children manipulate clay, often used in physical rehabilitation, in stimulating individuals with intellectual disability, and in the assessment and treatment of various disorders.

· Coloring – Coloring has the ability to relax the fear center of your brain, the amygdala. It induces the same state as meditating by reducing the thoughts of a restless mind. This generates mindfulness and quietness, which allows your mind to get some rest after a long day at work.



· Sand Therapy – Sand tray therapy allows a person to construct their own microcosm using miniature toys and colored sand. The scene created acts as a reflection of the person's own life and allows them the opportunity to resolve conflicts, remove obstacles, and gain acceptance of self.


Now, go ahead and heal yourself even if its just for the moment you are creating. The more you practice any of these suggestions the more you can control how you react to the world, and how to maintain your inner soul’s joy.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
bottom of page