top of page

Garden Tips

It seems like everyone is into gardening these days, and that is amazing! G.Y.M definitely wants the magic of growing your own food to be part of your daily practices. I have personally had my garden for about 6 years, and every year I learn something new that helps me be better, grow more, and enjoy the experience. Sharing is caring, so here is some helpful tips I think will aid in a bigger harvest at home.




· Do not plant HERBS with VEGGIES. I have learned that Herbs generally are sensitive plants. Herbs can easily burn under prolonged sunlight, whereas your veggies need at least 6 hours of direct sunlight, most herbs can survive in a nice shady spot that enjoys morning sunlight. I plant my herbs all together in my “Witch Garden” and it is easy to control the pest, and the growth. I also have my Witch Garden in a movable container (a wheel barrel) this allows me to move it around in the yard if I feel like it needs more sunlight or shade. In addition, herbs generally do not need as much plant food as your veggies require. My trick is feeding them once when they are first planted with Blood mill or Fish Oil and then water twice a day for the first 2 weeks.


· There are only 3 herbs I plant in their very own containers and it is because they become extremely invasive and those are: Peppermint, Rosemary & Mint. They will all take over anything they are planted next to, so I suggest they have their own containers, and it helps when you bring them inside in the colder months, because you don’t need to re pot them.




Great beginner herbs you should plant are: Mint, Peppermint, Sage, Basil & Fennel. If you love smells I would also suggest French Lavender, Rosemary & Lemon Balm. If you are into more spells and rituals you definitely need to add: Dill, Jasmine, Hibiscus, Chamomile.


Gardening should make you feel happy, connected to the earth, and alive. You are doing what Mother intended for us all to do. Grow, give back, and reconnect. I hope the next time you dig your hand down into the dirt, you say a sweet prayer to Mother, thanking her for all she has taught us.

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
bottom of page